Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hatching runner ducks under broody hens  (Read 4610 times)

sue_m

• Joined May 2011
Hatching runner ducks under broody hens
« on: May 22, 2011, 07:33:16 pm »
Hi
Hoping to get some help an advise. 4 of my broody silkies and pekings have been sitting on runner duck eggs for around 28 days. The duck eggs were given to me to try. Feel a bit silly now because the eggs are starting to hatch and i have no idea how to care for them. Do i just leave them with the broody hens to care for them? do i feed them? Have no idea what to do now. any advice would be great thanks

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
Re: Hatching runner ducks under broody hens
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2011, 07:39:01 pm »
I'm no expert, but we did just that, and they've thrived. We just gave them non medicated chick crumb and a drinker with water just deep enough to get their bills in, and after a few days their heads. We were careful to keep them out of any deeper water until they were fully feathered, since Mum wasn't oiling them in the same way that a mother duck would.

Anyhow, to answer your question, the ducklings were all absolutely fine. The hen on the other hand is in serious need of counselling   :o.
"All fungi are edible. Some fungi are only edible once." -Terry Pratchett

sue_m

• Joined May 2011
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2011, 07:46:20 pm »
Thanks think my hens may get a bit of a shock later as well. So did you feed them straight after hatching?

CameronS

• Joined Aug 2009
  • North East Fife
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2011, 10:15:20 pm »
make sure there is food avaiable from the start (chick crumbs or similar) and the mother hen will feed them as and when   :&>

ballingall

• Joined Sep 2008
  • Avonbridge, Falkirk
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2011, 11:37:00 pm »