Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Planting out  (Read 2598 times)

piggy

• Joined Oct 2008
Planting out
« on: May 19, 2011, 12:16:25 pm »
This is my first year at growing my own veg,in my tunnel i have some courgettes,cuecumber,peppers,chilli and toms,finally filled the raised bed with compost but can i plant all these in the same bed just that i read somewhere that certain veg should be planted together.The bed is 10ft x 5ft

Thanks

Karen

NorthEssexsmallholding

• Joined Dec 2010
Re: Planting out
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2011, 07:51:21 pm »
get a good veg growing book or look online, yes you need to plant certain groups together and have a rotation.

OhLaLa

• Joined Sep 2010
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2011, 08:00:10 pm »
Depends also on ventilation, some plants prefer to be nearer the door, others, like cucumbers, need misting. I have some Olive bushes in mine and they hated the draft from the rear vent so I had to move them.

Maybe do a quick internet search under something like 'where to plant tomatoes in a greenhouse', lot's of info comes up with planting tips. Search each of your chosen plants in turn and I think you won't go far wrong.

:wave:

Hermit

• Joined Feb 2010
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2011, 09:18:23 pm »
Watch the courgettes they grow huge,I have one each in four in seperate 4ft x 4ft raised  beds. Dr Hessayons expert books will tell you all you need to know. Cant see a problem planting in sections but remember where you planted them as in a normal veg plot then you can rotate a bit next year. You will need to watch the greedy plants dont take all the goodness from the smaller ones, same with the water. Keep an air flow as well as you have some leafy ones there for being together inside. Go for it and see what happens , you may need to check the plants if they get too big and stagnate the tunnel but that can soon be sorted.

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2011, 01:02:37 am »