Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Thinking Livestock ???  (Read 5591 times)

Callia

• Joined Apr 2009
Thinking Livestock ???
« on: April 24, 2011, 08:01:16 pm »
Hello,

I could do with some opinions please if you don't mind. I have been pestered by my OH to do something with the land at home and I just can't seem to decide what to do but I do have to admit it seems a complete waste to not be using it for something.
I have 7 acres of flat grassland/meadow with lots of clover, dandelions and vetch. It is heavy clay soil and can get quite waterlogged in the really wet weather. It has almost no shelter but obviously I could erect field shelters if required and I do have stables should I need to use them. I have owned/own various poultry, waterfowl, horses and a couple of goats so, am not a complete newbie to livestock but just can't decide !!! I love all animals and am willing to go to courses etc to make sure I know what I'm doing before I take the plunge but would like to hear pro's and con's from those that have various livestock to see what you advise.

Thankyou in advance, Debbie

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: Thinking Livestock ???
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2011, 02:48:31 pm »
Hi Debbie - your question seems to be one that people can't think how to answer.  It depends on so many factors, not least your personal choice and preference.
The price of good meadow hay is high so you could crop the lot, as long as it dries out for the summer.  You would need to invest in some machinery or get a contractor to do the work for you - the usual rate is he takes half the crop, no money changes hands.
How about sheep, or pigs - although pigs would waste what sounds like good permanent meadow by rooting it all up, but maybe they could have a scruffy corner which needs turning over.
Another option would be horse livery but that seems to have a certain amount of potential aggro attached to it.