Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Disposal  (Read 6840 times)

melholly

• Joined Oct 2010
  • East Sussex
    • My Blog
Disposal
« on: April 14, 2011, 09:52:14 pm »
Hello guys,

I'm new to smallholding and had taken on 4 orphan lambs. Sadly one has died. Can you advise mf on the best way to dispose of these?

Your opinions much appreciated.

Mx
http://selfridgestoscats.blogspot.com  **NOW UPDATED**
twitter - @southscouse

Freddiesfarm

• Joined Jan 2010
Re: Disposal
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2011, 09:57:17 pm »
You can either take the lamb to your local hunt or phone the National Fallen Stock Scheme and they will advise you of a collection service in your area.  DEFRA should also have the info of local collectors.

It should only cost you a couple of quid if the collector comes to you, but you might have to wait until they are passing by.

Elissian

• Joined Oct 2009
  • Wiltshire
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2011, 10:11:57 pm »
Can i just say how sorry i am for you. I had just read your previous post when this one came up, you've really thrown yourself in at the deep end and i can't help feeling that someone shouldn't have sold you sick lambs. Do you have a hunt near you? they will take dead animals and incinerate them. They will also shoot and take away any animals that need to be put out of its misery. the hunt had to shoot 2 ewes and their lambs from a flock i bought 3 years ago, the vet had advised me that this was the best option. it's a big shock when you're new to it all but let me reassure you things do get better.

melholly

• Joined Oct 2010
  • East Sussex
    • My Blog
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2011, 10:18:14 pm »