Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Old Veggie Plot  (Read 4075 times)

Maddox

• Joined Jan 2009
Old Veggie Plot
« on: January 19, 2009, 01:56:31 pm »
Hello All

I have recently moved into a rented house that has two huge veggie plots, sadly the old gentleman who use to live here died befor he could gather his spoils, currently there are 2 lots of beans, runners & broad, brussel sprouts, parsnip, breetroot from what I can see.

So being a total newbie to veggie growing I am persuming I should dig them all up (beans are well rotted and the local critters have had quite alot of the rest) and just prep the ground for my veggies???

The beans are on a home made frame which would be a shame to dismantle, should i rip out the old bean plants and put in new ones or do they grow back if cut back??? (see told you I was new to this...lol)

There are also some large raspberry bushes, (I seem to remember reading somewhere they should be cut back) should I cut these back to ground level or is it too late??

And finally..Spuds, can anyone recommend a good type (baking, mashing etc)early/mids/lates please, last year I did my first crop and although I had loads of spuds they didnt taste too good so Im presuming I just need a different type??

Ok just one more....what is spud chitting??? last year i just popped mine in the ground and away they went, should I of done this "chitting "thing first??

Ok you can all stop laughing now and the green horn...lol

many thanks
Maddox

Dan

• The Accidental Smallholder
  • Administrator
  • Joined Oct 2007
  • Carnoustie, Angus
    • The Accidental Smallholder
    • Facebook
Re: Old Veggie Plot
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2009, 04:48:24 pm »
Hi Maddox, good questions, I'll help where I can.  :)

So being a total newbie to veggie growing I am persuming I should dig them all up (beans are well rotted and the local critters have had quite alot of the rest) and just prep the ground for my veggies???