Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Tup Lamb and his feet  (Read 2576 times)

Kola70

• Joined Apr 2011
Tup Lamb and his feet
« on: April 11, 2011, 10:25:21 am »
This is my first posting and not perhaps the happiest!

I am very new to this game and one of my ewes gave birth to twins a gimmer and tup on 1st April. The gimmer is a cracker the tup whilst healthy and indeed has suckled very well since the 1st, has problem with his front two feet. I found as he walked he was rolling over on the front of his hoofs at what I would describe as his wrists. I splinted both and he seemed to be fine keeping up with the ewe and as I say had grown so fast in a week.

Last night I saw that he was holding up his right foreleg. On taking a look I could not see anything wrong, joints not hot etc.  I rebound both splints because when I took them off he was still rolling onto his "wrists". This morning I find that he is sheding, if that is the right word, one of his hoofs. When you compare the hooves of both front feet they are softer than the hind legs. I am concerned that my splinting may have lead to the degrading of the hoof but what do you do with a lamb that is shedding it hoof? Any thoughts from anyone would be much appreciated.

Also if he is still rolling onto his wrists is this going to lead to having the lamb put down. A shame as he is looking good otherwise but no point in letting the wee man suffer.

« Last Edit: April 11, 2011, 12:27:41 pm by Kola70 »

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: Tup Lamb and his feet
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2011, 11:40:09 am »