Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: So...about chickens...size of run  (Read 16748 times)

mackbear

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Armadale
  • mackbear
So...about chickens...size of run
« on: January 18, 2009, 06:01:28 pm »
Hi All,

I'm hoping to keep some chickens in my back garden but I am a total newbie to it!  Just to explain, my back 'garden' is actually a gravel covered car lot (because of partner's interest in classic cars). I have a little sloping area of soil/plants to the side, under some tall hawthorn bushes and next to some lap fencing.  I was thinking about building a run there with a small house but really, I am only at the 'seriously thinking about it' stage.  Here is the question...

What size would a house and run need to be for 3-4 chickens? Any other advice would be great too...!

thanks a lot

Martin.

johnmac

• Joined Dec 2008
  • Perth
Re: So...about chickens...size of run
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2009, 10:07:25 pm »
hi there and welcome aboard...... Some may disagree....but i dont think it will matter much if you don't have gress, because in a small enclosed area they would quickly kill the grass in any case! For four chickens... a run of about ten foot in length would suffice, by say six or more feet wide...the bigger the better.....

Have got the possibility of fencing off round the entire garden so when you are about you can give them free run of the whole garden? In this case you can buy about 50metres of chicken wire for about £30 to stop them squezzing through places and other things squeezing in!!!

As for the run itself...try and make it interesting for them... a small dust bath for sunbathing.... some sand for digging in, a few small branches or logs to jump about between.... and maybe a few covered planted bits of soil into which you can plant lettuces for them to nibble at/destroy!

Good luck!

mackbear

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Armadale
  • mackbear
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2009, 10:24:01 pm »
hey Johnmac,