Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Liver Fluke  (Read 6399 times)

JMB

• Joined Apr 2011
Liver Fluke
« on: April 07, 2011, 04:47:22 pm »
Hi. I hope someone can help. I had my one of my shetland ewes put down last week. The vet said she had liver fluke and we dosed her and she lasted another 2 weeks but never really improved at all.
Another shetland has it too. She was dosed 2 weeks ago and her face isn't as swollen but she is very thin and walks a bit like she's drunk  (I forgot to say I'm new to this and a bit clueless) and sleeps away from the flock.
I'm not sure if I should dose her again- I gave her Fasimec Duo's- but it says 30 days on the bottle. Or just leave her (because she is eating and walks about, not like the one who died)
Or whether to get the vet again. Except that I'm not sure if the vet helped the other one, or if we just prolonged the inevitable. From the vets bill, I know my last sheep had Alamycin, Colvasone, Multivitamin (first visit)  plus Voren and Betamox (2nd visit).
Expensive though it is, I am prepared to get the vet again, but just wondered if anyone knew if this was the right approach, or what to do.
Thank you very much, Joanne xxx

woollyval

• Joined Feb 2008
  • Near Bodmin, Cornwall
    • Val Grainger
    • Facebook
Re: Liver Fluke
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2011, 05:46:40 pm »
Liver fluke cause liver damage and liver failure....she has been dosed I assume for all stages of the flike lifecycle so there is not much you can do other than wait and see. In the meantime get a plan of action together to avoid this happening in future!......I assume all your other sheep have been dosed?
www.valgrainger.co.uk

Overall winner of the Devon Environmental Business Awards 2009

JMB

• Joined Apr 2011
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2011, 06:13:12 pm »
Yes the others have been dosed and all seem OK thanks. And we do have an action plan for the future after a steep and heartbreaking learning curve.