Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Poorly pig  (Read 4115 times)

wellies

• Joined Jul 2010
  • Shrewsbury
    • Fairfax Ryeland Flock
    • Facebook
Poorly pig
« on: March 16, 2011, 05:42:28 pm »
The pigs escaped yesterday and one has been poorly since we recaught him. He is refusing to eat, only taking small sips of water and generally looks in pain. The vet came today and took his temperature which was fine but said he thought he had tummy ache. The vet also gave him metacam for pain and inflammation and suggested giving him some sloppy tasty food to try and get him to eat. The problem is he wont eat! I was just wondering if anyone had any advice or thoughts. His stable buddy is fine and seems non the worse for the expedition  ???

pikilily

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Do what you enjoy; And enjoy what you do!!
Re: Poorly pig
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2011, 06:26:19 pm »
hiya, firstly i am not an expert on pigs!

i would take a wander around where the pigs were when they escaped. Look for evidence of them eating things. you may spot something which could give you clues! I would be looking for poisenous plants (although animals are pretty good at avoiding poisens).... also has the pig ahd access to feeds that he could have gorged on...?  then is there evidence that he may have chewed on or eated something inedible/indigestible eg plastic, rubber..
HTH to start with
Emma T
If you don't have a dream; how you gonna have a dream come true?

wellies

• Joined Jul 2010
  • Shrewsbury
    • Fairfax Ryeland Flock
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2011, 06:46:05 pm »
thank you for replying. There are no poisonous plants or evidence of chewing things which should not be chewed, at the mo it's a mystery and very worrying. Poor pig looks thoroughly miserable

Fowgill Farm

• Joined Feb 2009
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2011, 07:10:49 pm »