Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hello from West lothian Scotland  (Read 5861 times)

jaymac

• Joined Dec 2008
  • west lothian
Hello from West lothian Scotland
« on: January 02, 2009, 12:28:07 pm »
Firstly i would like to say what a great site this is with lots of info and local people to myself. My name is James and i have bought some land 27 acres in West Lothian Scotland it is not the best of land.  I would like to become self sufficient with veg and livestock. I am thinking of sharing the land with a couple of people with similar interests as it is a lot of land for one person to manage. If anyone is interested please get in contact with myself. I would be looking for people with knowledge of veg and livestock as I am very new to this but looking forward to the challenge.  :pig: :bee: :chook: :cow: :goat: :sheep:

HappyHippy

Re: Hello from West lothian Scotland
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2009, 03:40:56 pm »
Hello and welcome to the forum.

I'm in South Lanarkshire, don't need any land myself (got 130 acres - but mostly woodland, so it takes care of itself. The remaining 4 acres of workable land is okay but with work, kids etc it's taking me much longer to get things up and going than I had hoped !)
Look forward to hearing how you get on - good luck from me,

Karen  :pig:

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2009, 05:52:41 pm »
Hi, James and welcome. You need to join Central Scotland Smallholders Association www.smallholders.info - great bunch of folk.

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2009, 08:11:34 pm »
Hear, hear - very friendly and knowledgeable too! with GSOH too  ;)
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

sellickbhoy

• Joined Jan 2009