Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Rabbit breeding  (Read 43795 times)

pigsatlesrues

• Joined Oct 2008
  • Normandy, France
Rabbit breeding
« on: January 04, 2008, 10:00:44 am »
We bought some giant rabbits last Autumn which are now coming to size, and we are thinking about breeding one of them to get a litter in the link for meat.

Does anyone have experience of rabbits please?

I know to put the female to the male not the other way around. Should the female be right away from the other females or is it ok to separate her with fencing whilst still enjoying the company of her freinds. Should I wait for the warmer weather or is anytime ok?

Would she need food supplements during pregnancy?

I am a total novice so any information will be greatfully recieved.

Kate
Bonjour et avoir un bon jour !

rustyme

Re: Rabbit breeding
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2008, 06:24:24 pm »
Hello Kate ,
               I typed an answer earlier it took forever but just as I was about to post , the electric went off here and I lost the lot .... :'( Anyway.... Bunnies.........
     Although I never kept them myself , my dad did for years. He reared them for commercial meat production about 30 years ago now. In those days the best ones were Californians or New Zealand Whites , if my terrible memory serves me right ? From what I can remember the GIANT types aren't really the best ones for meat production , as they take too long to get upto weight and the meat to bone ratio is bad compared to the Cals and the NZW's.