Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: A complete novice with veg  (Read 2236 times)

piggy

• Joined Oct 2008
A complete novice with veg
« on: March 06, 2011, 10:42:36 pm »
My OH has just treated me to a polytunnel,the tunnel is 20x10ft have put it up this weekend and looks great,but i am a total novice when it comes to veg,i have bought some seeds that say sow indoors but does that mean i can sow them in my tunnel or does that mean indoors in the house.

Thanks

Karen
« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 07:59:19 am by piggy »

Blonde

• Joined Mar 2011
Re: A complete novice with veg
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 08:20:41 am »
 I would put them in a tray in soil in the tunnel house. I would have trays of water around to make it more humid...hence warm  and keepo the door shut during the night and open during the day to let out the old air and bring in the new.  Dont have your seed trays in a fast blowing breeze as they will dry out.  If it comes up really windy just close the tunnel door by half and see how that does.   Before the sun sets ......close the door totally and leave and the humidity will build up and keep the place warm till morning. You will have to play with this a little........as I am too far away to come show you.

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 09:24:49 am »
Hi Karen. Lucky you  :) 8)