Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: How deep for root vegetables  (Read 4180 times)

piggy

• Joined Oct 2008
How deep for root vegetables
« on: March 03, 2011, 02:13:34 pm »
I have just made 4 raised beds each 10ft x 5ft,this is my first year of growing veg,i read in the gardens world mag that the soil for root vegetables has to be deeper than others so my question is how deep will the soil need to be.

Thanks
Karen

ellied

• Joined Sep 2010
  • Fife
    • Facebook
Re: How deep for root vegetables
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 08:24:38 pm »
No expert but my understanding is it needs to be soft enough for the root to grow down without hindrance, so just deeper than the length of a carrot, parsnip or beetroot depending what you're planting ;) 

Carrots like light soil and grow oddly very easily hence so many being rejected by supermarkets and sold for animal fodder - thankfully as my ponies love them whatever shape they come and I nick a few for myself too ;)
Barleyfields Smallholding & Kirkcarrion Highland Ponies
https://www.facebook.com/kirkcarrionhighlands/
Ellie Douglas Therapist
https://www.facebook.com/Ellie-Douglas-Therapist-124792904635278/

manian

• Joined Sep 2010
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2011, 08:35:27 pm »
if you have raised beds it'll be fine
if your soil is hard, push a pipe in the ground and pull outthe soil and fill with compost.
you'll get lovely size veg  :carrot: :carrot: then

piggy

• Joined Oct 2008
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2011, 09:10:37 pm »
Thanks,the beds are about 1.5ft high but wasnt sure if i needed all that soil and to save a little bit of money was going to put a layer of rubble in the bottom and then a layer of horse poo then the soil.

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2011, 09:29:49 pm »