Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: new to Shetlands  (Read 3664 times)

Lostlambs

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Canada
new to Shetlands
« on: February 18, 2011, 12:42:43 pm »
I am just new to Shetlands,just bought a small flock last fall.I am wondering if they need any different handling than my larger commercial cross that are Charollais/Hampshire. The Shetlands are not too common here and my vet doesn't even handle many sheep to begin with.Here most run cattle or grain farm.I usually deworm and vaccinate about 8 weeks before lambing and that is coming in mid April.I have only heard of a couple breeders and they are in Alberta ,the next province over. Any information or tips somebody has would be great. Thanks

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
Re: new to Shetlands
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2011, 01:36:48 pm »
One advantage, they are a lot smaller so easier to do feet etc solo even when theres a large number. They tend to 'scatter' more than' flock 'so are best if they are bucket trained from an early age! Ours give lambs that are half twins and half singles consistently (this is to a Shetland tup). Fencing should 'look' good (even if an bit wobbly in practice, if it looks high and solid enough I find they dont bother trying....unless there is little grass in their field and lots the other side of the fence....We vaccinate (Heptavac P+) about six weeks before lambing with a booster 2 weeks prior for any that havent had a jab as a lamb. We use worm counts and have a lot of ungrazed ground so no worm probs as yet (but would worm if/when needed)