Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Nanny Goats  (Read 8349 times)

ambriel

• Joined Jan 2011
  • Kinlochbervie, NW Sutherland, Scotland
  • Mad, bad, and dangerous to know!
    • Harbour Cottage
Nanny Goats
« on: February 13, 2011, 10:49:14 pm »

We currently have three Kune Kune pigs and some hens. I've been thinking about adding a nanny goat as a source of fresh milk but am concerned as I've heard they're consumate escape artists and I wouldn't want it to get out or into the neighbours' gardens.

Are mature nannies bad for it, or are some breeds better or worse than others?

How do they get on with sharing space with pigs and hens?

plumseverywhere

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Worcestershire
    • Its Baaath Time
    • Facebook
Re: Nanny Goats
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 11:03:29 am »
I'm no expert, having only kept goats for just under a year but I would say some goats are better at escaping than others. My milking goat never used to bother escaping but the 3 kids/goatlings did.  Currently I have 2 goatlings kept within about 3/4 acre surrounded by electric strip fencing/sheep netting/stock fencing. the combo of the 3 works for us.
My chickens regularly have a wander in the goat paddock and clear up spilt goat food but chicken food is toxic to goats so you would need to consider where to feed the hens.
Goats are herd animals so need company, preferably of their own kind, not good on their own.
one of ours did escape and had a mouth ful of (we believe) rhodedendrun from a neighbours garden, within a couple of days he had died (leaving us a vet bill of over £200) so its worth making sure your land has nothing toxic to goats and that your fencing is secure. They also need good shelter.
Lisa
Smallholding in Worcestershire, making goats milk soap for www.itsbaaathtime.com and mum to 4 girls,  goats, sheep, chickens, dog, cat and garden snails...

ambriel

• Joined Jan 2011
    • Harbour Cottage
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2011, 12:07:53 pm »