Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: i was told they were both girls, my ducks!!! are making us blush  (Read 4056 times)

faith0504

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Cairngorms
  • take it easy and chill
    • blaemuir cottage
i was told they were both girls, my ducks!!! are making us blush
« on: February 11, 2011, 11:32:06 am »
well we have had our two ducks, mavis and matilda for a few weeks, i was told they were elderly and both females!! :-[ well today i looked out to see matilda on top of mavis doing what can only be described as "full on s**".

questions are,

will they do such things even if they are both females? if not and i have a male and a female how long will it be before she starts laying and hopefully sitting?

i have no experience of duck related baby making activities, any help or advice would be great

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
Re: i was told they were both girls, my ducks!!! are making us blush
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 01:55:50 pm »
Yes, is the short answer, ducks will start laying from about the end of February - sometimes earlier.  If they 'quack' they are female, if they squeak they are male - youngsters are difficult to tell apart, but if these are mature their voices should tell you what sex they are.  If you have one of each and want to hatch their eggs be careful as they may be brother and sister, you could get deformed chicks, and ducks are not known for being good parents.  Personally, I'd eat the eggs and buy in young females.
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

faith0504

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Cairngorms
  • take it easy and chill
    • blaemuir cottage
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2011, 02:02:23 pm »
thanks doganjo

mavis is an indian runner, matilda is an alysebury going to have to change names i think!!!

adamhfc

• Joined Sep 2010