Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hi Everyone!! Another couple of newbies....  (Read 4416 times)

RaggyDoll

• Joined Dec 2008
  • Norfolk, UK
Hi Everyone!! Another couple of newbies....
« on: December 05, 2008, 12:37:17 pm »
Hello All..

Well i've been reading these forums for a while now and as we are (hopefully) expanding early next year i thought i'd join up and say hi! Plus.. i think we might need all the advice we can get!!!

Bit about us.. we have 3 manic labradors (last year they managed to dig up and consume most of my carrots, gotta love em) who cause mayhem wherever they go. Not causing us so much mayhem are the chooks. We have a funny mixture including a light sussex, a welsummer, black rock and a few hybrids..  so far 6 hens and 2 cockerels... none of which have laid an egg. Obviously i am not expecting the cockerels to lay.. i am new to this but i at least know about the birds and the bees! I keep being told to be patient.... they are all this years birds except the black rock.. nothing, nada. Hurry up longer days!

So as the chickens are going so well ( ???) i thought we would expand my new-found love of animal keeping. Early part of next year we are hoping (find out soon!) to move to a house with a couple of acres. So whats next.... goats? cattle? who knows! All i know is that i want to try new things and if i fail, try again! And with experts like you guys here to give tips and pointers i am sure everything will go like clockwork.....

Hilarysmum

• Joined Oct 2007
Re: Hi Everyone!! Another couple of newbies....
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2008, 02:48:15 pm »
Hi and welcome, we have a manic part bred lab and a couch potato springer spaniel.  Wonderful start with the carrots and hens.  We tried goats but our roof couldnt stand the strain.  As your veggie patch has already been done over by the labs you may find pigs are quite easy.  On the plus side they dont tend to live indoors, so the mud stays outside.  And they taste good. HM