Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: When do caterpillars eat?  (Read 15069 times)

knightquest

• Joined May 2010
  • Birmingham
    • Knight Pet Supplies
When do caterpillars eat?
« on: January 29, 2011, 09:17:31 pm »
Got some veggies in the greenhouse that seem to be being mulla'h by caterpillocks....... I've tried to catch them in the act so that the chooks can have a meal but they are never around. Been out all times of day and night but with no success.
Any advice?

Cheers,

Ian
Ian (me), Diane (my wife) and 4 dogs. Ollie (Lab mix) , Quest (Malamute), Gazer and Boris (Leonbergers)

darkbrowneggs

• Joined Aug 2010
    • The World is My Lobster
Re: When do caterpillars eat?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2011, 10:21:30 pm »
I am not an expert but from my gardening experience I wouldn't suspect caterpillars at this time of the year, but I suppose it depends on how warm it is in your greenhouse

Its pretty much too cold with me for anything to eat anything, though the mice have been having a good go at  certain things.  As it warms up I find cutworm a problem and then flea beetle.  And of course as soon as it is warm enough the slugs get started.

Caterpillars tend to be more daytime feeders, but slugs and cutworm are more night eaters,  What does the damage look like. A photo might help or perhaps a description of the damage

All the best
Sue
To follow my travel journal see http://www.theworldismylobster.org.uk

For lots of info about Marans and how to breed and look after them see www.darkbrowneggs.info

OhLaLa

• Joined Sep 2010
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2011, 12:36:04 pm »
I reckon it's mice  ;)

Or, if the door isn't closed, rabbits.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2011, 04:47:10 pm by OhLaLa »

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2011, 03:09:35 pm »