Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hi, new here and excited!  (Read 1450 times)

brightwild

• Joined Dec 2023
  • London, soon to be Essex
    • My craft shop
Hi, new here and excited!
« on: December 10, 2023, 11:03:00 am »
Hi. I'm finally moving out of London soon and into a lovely little cottage in Essex, with a garden that's about 200ft long! It's my first time having a proper garden of my own (I've only had a roof garden in the past, or small patios), so I'm quite nervous about how I'm going to manage it all.

I'm also going to have a Rayburn and oil-fired heating, which is new to me, as well as being on a septic tank, and (most excitingly) having a woodburner which I've also never had one of my own.

I'm hoping to set part of the garden up as an entertaining area with a small outside cooking area, then put part of it to wildflowers and bee/butterfly-friendly plants. I want to grow some fruit and veg and am thinking to do some of that in raised planters as I'm disabled and want to make everything as easy as possible for me to maintain.

I also really want to start doing something with my food and green waste, like a compost heap or wormery, but I've never had either of those before and have no idea how to get started!

When writing it all down like that, it seems like an awful lot to be taking on and I'm slightly wondering just why I'm this mad! Any advice/tips etc would be so gratefully welcomed!

As for me - I'm 42 and am going to be doing all this by myself! I'm a bit of a geek and a massive hippy! Once I've moved I'll be getting a couple of cats and a dog and am also in the process of becoming a motorcyclist  :excited:

I'm moving near to the Halstead area in Essex. I'd love to hear from anyone generally, but especially anyone in that area.

chrismahon

• Joined Dec 2011
  • Gascony, France
Re: Hi, new here and excited!
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2023, 11:18:31 am »