Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Shwmae/Hello.  (Read 4279 times)

Girlfrompembs

• Joined Aug 2023
Shwmae/Hello.
« on: August 29, 2023, 10:32:33 am »
Hi everyone,
👋👋
I’m very new here and very new to samllholding. In fact, I don’t even have any land yet!
I’m posting here in the hope someone can advise me slightly, I’m looking at a pasture field but it’s on top of some cliffs, the next “fields” down from it are coastal slope. So, the edge of the world.
Is this viable? Will the wind simply blow down all my crops? I have visited the site but only on a nice day so far, just to check soil depth etc.
Apologies if this is the wrong place to post, if it is could someone show me to the “rose tinted noob” threads please  😂

horihori

• Joined Jun 2023
Re: Shwmae/Hello.
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2023, 09:58:00 am »
I am not an expert but the idea of starting out trying to grow in a place with high winds carrying salt water, on land that may be at risk of falling into the sea at the best of times, never mind with potential sea-level rise... It's just not worth it. Aside from the added difficulty in growing in that environment, even though the land may not be directly affected in our lifetimes, it's not unlikely it'll lose value through that added risk. When I was looking for a site I used this tool to rule out any that could be a future flood risk (it only works by elevation and won't show erosion risks).

Girlfrompembs

• Joined Aug 2023
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2023, 02:59:56 pm »
Thank you so much. There are probably more suitable sites if I’m patient.
I knew I’d view it and fall in love! Needed the sensible view. I think you’re right, with the wind and salt I may be fighting a losing battle. I guess if it worked more people would be doing it!
It’s a fair distance set back in terms of erosion risk and very high up in terms of flood risk but I think just the wind and salt alone could be the problem.
Thanks again for your reply.

SallyintNorth