Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: home alone chicken  (Read 3507 times)

lyndapeckover

• Joined Nov 2010
home alone chicken
« on: November 11, 2010, 04:32:22 pm »
Hi folks , as a newbie I did not think that straight away I would be asking for help...but , up until yesterday we had 4 lovely old breed hens bought this year at point of lay , all super layers and no moulting , then we had a fox attack.We now only  have the Light Sussex left and although she has no physical injury she seems totally traumatised.I 've tried her with Verm-X  ::) poultry spice and a spray on rescue remedy but she seems to be pining for the others...what can I do ?   lynda

CameronS

• Joined Aug 2009
  • North East Fife
Re: home alone chicken
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2010, 04:57:00 pm »
Welcome from fife  :wave:

Keep her in a darkened room/box thus keeping her calm, leave her alone for an hour or so, feed her luke warm water from a spoon, small bowl etc, and some warm mash (confort food)

in the mean time re-fox proof the pen if she makes full recovery start looking for another 2/3 birds for company or rehome her and start fresh

good luck

cameron

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2010, 05:26:00 pm »
And if you say where you are, some kind soul on here may give you a couple of hens to keep her company. ;D
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

faith0504

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Cairngorms
  • take it easy and chill
    • blaemuir cottage
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2010, 05:51:11 pm »
sorry to hear about your fox attack, i hope she pulls through.

hi and welcome from moray  :wave:

CameronS

• Joined Aug 2009
  • North East Fife
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2010, 06:16:40 pm »