Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Fencing  (Read 2904 times)

Melias farm

• Joined Feb 2022
Fencing
« on: February 24, 2022, 05:34:38 am »
I’m new to pigs and get 2 girls for store on Saturday.

The breeder has told me their adults escape from electric fencing. I’ve been told and read sooo much that says if the fencing is on all the time and done properly (livestock electric fencing and a wire strand 8cinches from the ground) it’s great fencing.

Am I rose tinted glasses in fencing? I’m now scared taking these piglets on at the weekend!

harmony

• Joined Feb 2012
Re: Fencing
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2022, 08:44:54 am »
Are they electrically fenced at the moment and already used to it? If not you will have to get them used to it and they will possibly go through it until they respect it. Small area to start with and something behind it, such as pallets, so they can't go far.

People use electric fencing and it does the job fine.

Personally I prefer stock fencing for peace of mind.

Are these mangalitzas from the marketplace ad? I'm not sure if they are slower growing than other breeds but those were 6 months of age were they not? Piglets are newborns and by the time they leave the sow they are weaners (usually around 8 weeks of age), another month and I'd call them stores. At 6 months many pigs would be ready for slaughter. My point in addition to what you call a pig at different ages is they will be bigger than weaners and maybe more difficult to electric fence train.

Richmond

• Joined Sep 2020
  • Norfolk
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2022, 08:54:19 am »