Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Ecological assesment  (Read 6007 times)

caz

• Joined Jun 2010
Ecological assesment
« on: December 01, 2021, 09:47:59 am »
So I submitted my first ever planning application. I've got 8 acres of green belt and requested full planning permission for a track down one side from the road leading to a small wooden barn.  I asked for the same as what my neighbour already got permission for in 2012. I studied my neighbours application as to what I needed to include plus how much detail to add.

The council have replied after 2 months waiting saying they will have to refuse as there is no ecological survey included or a biodiversity net gain assessment.
This is the first time either of these things have been mentioned. The same officer emailed me about a month ago asking small details about my application and never once mentioned about these assessments not being present.
It's really doesn't feel user friendly for the ordinary person.
Have they made a mistake in asking for all these things or have they all came in since 2012 when my neighbour got permission?
If I owned more land and was classed as a farmer would I just have needed to notify them of the work I intended to do and not have needed all these assessments?

arobwk

• Joined Nov 2015
  • Kernow: where 2nd-home owners rule !
Re: Ecological assesment
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2021, 04:46:50 pm »
Seems a bit over the top, but 9 years is a long time with ever greater focus on the environmental impact of any and all developments.  I don't know whether there would be a green-belt factor as well (?!).
At under 5ha you have some permitted development rights which do not need to be notified to Planners (unlike holdings over 5ha) - I'm a bit rusty and it might well be that your particular track-way does indeed need full PP.