Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hi from leicestershire - eventually wales..  (Read 4954 times)

farmershort

• Joined Nov 2010
Hi from leicestershire - eventually wales..
« on: November 17, 2010, 09:37:17 am »
Hi All,

Never sure what to write on these into things...

I'm 28, and living with my fiancée in leicestershire. I work in IT 8am - 5pm, but have also worked as assistant/trainee/livestock farm manager for a few months in my time (more of an experiment really).

since 2004 we have kept pigs, sheep, chickens, ducks, and highland cattle... mostly in small numbers, but we did have 100 breeding ewes at our high point in sheep, and rented about 50 acres of land.

At the moment we just fatten 4 weaners up to about 60-70kg, in batches, every 3 months. We've been doing this for a couple of year now, using a neighbours garden, which we rent. The land needs a bit of rest I think, so this may be our last batch of pigs for 12 months. We're thinking of using the land for spuds & chickens next year instead.

The eventual aim is to follow the field-to-farm plan, and buy about 15 acres in south west wales (within 15 miles of chepstow, ideally). Fingers crossed we're no more than 2 years away from this.

well, that's us.... nice to meet you all.

Blinkers

• Joined Jan 2008
  • Carmarthenshire
  • Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire border
    • Glyn Elwyn - Faithmead Herd
    • Facebook
Re: Hi from leicestershire - eventually wales..
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2010, 10:09:22 am »
Hi and welcome and sounds like you're well on track for your dream.    Well done you guys.    We moved from West Sussex to South West Wales in 2008 and STILL feel like we're on holiday.....even though its very hard work on a smallholding....but we love it.   :wave:
Did you ever stop to think, and forget to start again !!
www.glynelwyn.co.uk

faith0504

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Cairngorms
  • take it easy and chill
    • blaemuir cottage
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2010, 10:16:34 am »