Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advice needed please! :D  (Read 10975 times)

XxhoofprintsxX

• Joined Aug 2010
Advice needed please! :D
« on: November 15, 2010, 09:46:28 pm »
Hi everyone.
I'm 17, been around horses & been riding for nearly 10 years now. I've had horses to share & loan before.
I'm looking next year to buy a young horse. I have had some experience with young horses and I was asked to school a young pony who kept bucking & bolting with the owners. I really built a bond of trust with her as i was the only person that could successfully ride her without chaos...unfortunately they arent selling her so this isnt possible.I understand that it will be a lot of time & effort and that it's hard work! and I am up for this...I really want the rewards of having a young horse grow up with you & bond.I have a huge support base, with many experienced friends on hand if needed!

I would just love some advice in buying young horses and their training. & also does any one know if a 5 stage vetting is worth having? and how much it is?
Many thanks! Looking forward to hearing from you :D

wytsend

• Joined Oct 2010
  • Okehampton
Re: Advice needed please! :D
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2010, 02:48:58 pm »
Well done you for taking the huge step forward.

What do you hope to do with a young horse, competition etc.,

Personally -  had horses all my life, -  I have only once had a horse 5 stage vetted and that turned out to be a disaster in more ways than one !!   Since then, yes I have had a 2 stage for eyes, wind & heart, but unless the horse is over £5K value, I would not consider it.
But having said all of that, until you have gained real experience, perhaps the first time it would be a good idea.
BUT always, without question, get blood samples taken at the vetting. 
Many horses have appeared quiet at that stage only to turn into raving lunatics.