Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: HELP! New to all things Cattle - where to start!  (Read 3296 times)

Hollybaa

• Joined Jan 2021
HELP! New to all things Cattle - where to start!
« on: June 18, 2021, 12:54:04 pm »
Hello Everyone,

Please forgive me I'm sure there will be similar threads on here, but I haven't quite found all the info yet!

I would like to get a couple of cows to breed from. I have had lots of experience with cows (Brahmans in Australia so very different i know!) but not kept them personally in the UK. I have pigs (4 saddlebacks who are seriously friendly and lie down when they have their bellies scratched, for the freezer but having wonderful lives at the moment!!) and would like to have cows who are lovely and tame and keep them for a long time, but have the calves for the freezer..

My questions..

Age? I would like them to be very tame easy to handle. Should I be getting them as calves so they relax and get to know me? and wait until they are old enough and then put them in calf (what age would this be?)

Breed? I originally thought about Highlands but someone said they might be a bit more difficult to handle with their horns, even if they are friendly they could be a liability...? Now I am thinking Belted Galloway. Not too big and fairly docile and good meat? But apparently very slow growing - would this be a problem? Or should i be considering other breeds for this sort of operation? (I would like an interesting breed rather than the usual more commercial types).

Timing? At what age do you put them in calf and at what age would you kill a calf?

Where to buy? Should i be looking at going to the local auction marts or approaching local farmers, or any other route..?