Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Metal or wooden sheep hurdles?  (Read 5998 times)

wildandwooly

• Joined Feb 2021
Metal or wooden sheep hurdles?
« on: May 04, 2021, 01:22:32 pm »
Hello All  :wave:

Advice needed please on whether to get wooden or metal sheep hurdles for my paddock area to use when I'm checking sheep feet/giving meds/drenche's etc.....

Wooden hurdles are a lot cheaper but I'm thinking that even tannalised treated timber may warp if left outside ( they would need to be left outside) so wondering if I should just invest in the metal ones.... :thinking:

Any comments/advice gratefully received as I'm no expert on this subject! ( Or many others  :roflanim:)

Backinwellies

• Global Moderator
  • Joined Sep 2012
  • Llandeilo Carmarthenshire
    • Nantygroes
    • Facebook
Re: Metal or wooden sheep hurdles?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2021, 01:27:45 pm »
I'm amazed wooded are cheaper .....  not even sure where you would source wooden ones.
Linda

Don't wrestle with pigs, they will love it and you will just get all muddy.

Let go of who you are and become who you are meant to be.

http://nantygroes.blogspot.co.uk/
www.nantygroes.co.uk
Nantygroes  facebook page

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2021, 02:26:49 pm »
Definitely go for metal unless you're going to make them yourself. We've been here ten years now, and most of the wooden gates etc that I made when we first moved in here now need repair or replacement, whereas the galvanised steel hurdles we bought are still as good as new.

Something to beware of, you definitely want galvanised steel rather than painted. However, the more expensive ones will have been welded up and THEN galvanised as a complete unit, whereas cheaper ones are made from pre-galvanised tube welded together. However, these tend to rust at the welds after a while, and are a false economy IMHO.

Hope that helps!