Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Topping pasture  (Read 2759 times)

wildandwooly

• Joined Feb 2021
Topping pasture
« on: February 23, 2021, 08:27:32 pm »
Hello everyone! I'm new to AS. Also new to smallholding generally and very much at the start of things......! I need some advice from those of you who will be far more experienced than me land management wise.
I have acquired some pasture which has sadly been neglected for many years. My aim is to improve it and get it back to the species diverse meadow it once was many years ago. We have lapwings who nest as well as pheasants on the land. The pasture has had some ragwort in it which I pulled by hand over a few weeks last year before it went to seed. That was a labour of love!! I know I won't have got rid of it all but it was a start. It also still has some small areas of docks and thistles and rushes/reeds? I'm thinking of getting it topped and grazed using a few sheep like Shetlands for conservation grazing. When would it be a good time to top it? Obviously I'll need to avoid the time the lapwings etc are nesting. Any sage advice would be wonderful and very gratefully received!

Buttermilk

• Joined Jul 2014
Re: Topping pasture
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2021, 07:58:03 pm »
You will need the ground dry enough for doing any work on the land, if it is anything like here then it is too wet to carry the tractor/car/quad whatever you are using.

I took on some rough, overgrown land and I grazed it hard with ponies, then sheep followed by ponies the next winter. Once the bulk of the top had been munched down I used a topper to get the stuff they did not touch.  I found that the ponies feet helped break up the clumps of rushes.

I used electric fencing and strip grazed it over winter and put up a back fence to prevent poaching the eaten areas.  There are curlews nesting in my fields.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well