Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: My smallholding plans  (Read 2740 times)

deuce22

• Joined Feb 2021
My smallholding plans
« on: February 23, 2021, 06:46:23 pm »
Hi.

I am a complete novice when it comes to smallholdings/farms and haven't a clue of what you are actually allowed to do with them.

I'm a builder and although I was brought up and spent most of my life in cities, I've gradually been getting closer to living in the country. I'm planning to buy a smallholding within the next few years and have the following ideas.

1. Knock down the existing property and build a more efficient home.

2. Fence off a certain amount of land and re-home as many animals as possible into some type of animal sanctuary.

3. Construct some type of building for the sole purpose of caring for animals with volunteers and as a non profit charity.

4. Fence off another section of land with a separate entrance and construct some type of holiday accommodation (log cabins/chalets). Employ locals to help run that business and the profits from this business can help towards the running costs of everything.

I have no idea if any of this is possible. Can somebody give me an idea if this could be done.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2021, 10:17:54 am by deuce22 »

Buttermilk

• Joined Jul 2014
Re: My smallholding plans
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2021, 08:02:38 pm »
In the right area, with planning permission for the holiday enterprise, planning permission for the buildings and enough land to house and feed the animals anything is possible.

You will find that taking in animals will need more space than you would expect, unless you buy in all feed and bedding, which is very expensive.

deuce22

• Joined Feb 2021
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2021, 08:42:13 pm »
Thanks.

I just wanted to know if the was a glimmer of hope for this to work. I will look into the regulations for land size for certain animals and calculate how much I need.