Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Greenbelt.. Help.  (Read 1980 times)

excitedbutnervous

• Joined Mar 2021
Greenbelt.. Help.
« on: March 01, 2021, 10:33:22 am »
Hello,

I am new to this, and at the very first stages of sorting this.

In the 80's my dad bought some greenbelt land (6 acres) in a very desirable location. This has since been gifted to me.

Initially, I thought - bloody brilliant, I can build a nice house, have a fantastic garden for the dog and try to live an 'off grid'/ 'sustainable' life.

Obviously after a hell of a lot of research, I now know that having a residential plot on Greenbelt land is highly unrealistic.

So, after discussions with a member of my wife's family (who is a butcher), he mentioned how it would be highly desirable for him as he could use it to graze a few of his cows/ lambs on this field. We would need to provide a 'residential' location for whoever is looking after the animals on this land. It would be great for him as he can say that he sells locally sourced meat, and he already 'controls' the meat from a pig farm. It would be great for me, as I can earn some money from the field, and potentially we could get planning permission for residential purposes.

If we do do this, I would want it to be as ethical as possible, and that's what he would want. I know that we could keep limited numbers. He would also want to keep ducks.

Is it possible to use greenbelt land for agricultural purposes? Has anyone on here done this and lived onsite?

Please do not be too harsh with me. As I said earlier this is in its very early stages and there is no way I would take on a full undertaking of this without exploring every avenue.

landroverroy

• Joined Oct 2010
Re: Greenbelt.. Help.
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2021, 11:17:27 am »