Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Weak egg shells  (Read 3894 times)

valantinas

• Joined Sep 2009
Weak egg shells
« on: November 08, 2010, 11:02:56 am »
Hi
I've tried to find the answer on previous posts but unable to.
My hens are laying egg which have weak shells.  Leaving grit for them but they dont eat it.  The food they have says no grit is needed as its all in.  Is there another suppliment I can give that willmake shells better?

Thanks

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: Weak egg shells
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2010, 11:23:38 am »
Ordinary grit helps with their crop action, oyster shell helps with shell quality.  Having said that, there are apparently other causes of shell weakness such as infection.  I am still learning here, bit I'm sure someone else can clarify.
"Let's not talk about what we can do, but do what we can"

There is NO planet B - what are YOU doing to save our home?

Do something today that your future self will thank you for - plant a tree

Love your soil - it's the lifeblood of your land.

BlueDaisy

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Grow your own - veg and chooks!
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2010, 11:25:36 am »
you could also try adding limestone flour to their food

valantinas

• Joined Sep 2009
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2010, 03:27:38 pm »
Just spoken to our food supplier to see if they sell any calcium suppliments.  He advised that egg shells do go softer at this time of the year as it near the end of laying season

spikey_fridge

• Joined Mar 2010
  • stroud gloucestershire
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2010, 04:35:49 pm »
i've started crushing up egg shells into their mash. they eat it all and then some. not had this problem yet

landroverroy

• Joined Oct 2010
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2010, 08:47:28 am »