Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Living alternatively without the mortgage loop help.  (Read 7069 times)

Natalie95

• Joined Dec 2020
Living alternatively without the mortgage loop help.
« on: December 07, 2020, 09:42:54 am »
Hello all,

I'm quite new to this so Im sorry if it's a silly question.

Background:

I'm 25 and seems impossible to get on a property ladder. I work through a work agency with not a high wage (19k a year). Getting a mortgage will not work, as it would be for a small amount and on a high percentage.

Issue I have is that I have 2 big dogs I'm unwilling to part with. And it's very hard to rent a house. Currently I'm quite lucky to have found a house that accepts them, however it's costing me £750 a month just for rent (thank God for all the overtime at work).

The Question:

Im sure it's been asked before and my research suggests it's extremely hard to do this. However, is it possible to buy a piece of land and live on it ? I'm not talking about buying a house and getting a planning permission as this seems near impossible. I'm wondering if there's a loop hole anywhere, such us living in a caravan/log cabin/rv and have my post go to my mum's house?
I work from home so would be there pretty much 24/7 and would be looking to have the dogs inside with me.

I have found 3 different lands which would be within my limits of buying.

- 1.6 grazing land right at the main road

- 3 acres of land adjacent to a housing estate and a school ( the land has some trees on it, but I wouldn't want to remove them ).

- Grazing land, amenity woodland, redundant brick built water tower ( no roof on it currently and out of use, it looks like a little house and not a tower.)

Would love to build my own little house, my dad has done this before in a different country and it is a cute little place my aim eventually would be to do the same.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders