Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Chicken under the weather  (Read 1825 times)

AmyG

• Joined Jul 2020
Chicken under the weather
« on: August 19, 2020, 08:19:31 pm »
Hi all,
I'm new to the world of keeping chickens but have had my 6 ex-commercial ladies since 2nd August. One of them was really feisty at first, but for the past week (ish) she has just seemed a bit under the weather. At first I wondered if she was egg bound, but we had a feel around and she doesn't appear to be, the fact that she is still with us leads me to believe that this isn't the problem. The other 5 are all absolutely fine and she herself doesn't have any odd secretions. Her symptoms are- snoozing often, standing hunched up and with slightly droopy wings, paler comb then the others.

If anybody has any ideas then I would love to hear them! If you think that I need to take her to the vet then equally please say so! I think that she is getting better, but it's slowly... they have poultry spice in their food and I have started adding poultry drink concentrate into their waters in the hope that she'll pick up. I also haven't seen any red mite and when I clean their house I dust it with DE.

Thanks in advance for any advice :)

Amy

Eve

• Joined Jul 2010
Re: Chicken under the weather
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2020, 08:56:22 am »
Hello Amy,
We started off with ex-battery hens, they were brilliant birds, but unfortunately they are bred to lay a lot in a very short amount of time, not to live long lives.

You’re spot on on their care, maybe just take a pooh sample to the vet to check for worms (that should be really inexpensive, I remember paying £4 a few years ago). Most of the time chickens seem fine even though they need worming, but every now and then one bird really suffers under a heavy worm load even though the others can cope wit it.