Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New member on a new adventure  (Read 920 times)

LivinghistorianAaron91

• Joined Jun 2020
New member on a new adventure
« on: June 22, 2020, 06:15:56 pm »
Hello everyone,

My name is Aaron and I am 28 years old (29 later this year). My partner who is mentally disabled and I are looking to move out of our one bed rented property in the Rhondda Valley, South Wales where we keep 12 hens and 1 cockerel and make a little money on the side selling free range eggs and the odd bit of left over fruit and vegetables from our small kitchen garden.

We are both in receipt of benefits which is our everyday income and we would like to make the leap into running our own smallholding.

We would like to find someone in South Wales where we could both settle down and initially rent or rent to buy. 

I am a keen amateur historian and would like to grow heritage, rare and heirloom varieties of fruit and vegetables from throughout history as well as keen chickens and possibly other livestock again rare and heritage breeds using organic and sustainable principles and methods.

I believe in helping others learn where our food comes from not only our meat but also the history behind everything we grow, etc.

I have also had my family history researched for me and I have discovered that I have 2 5th Great-Grandfathers, a 3rd Great-Grandfather and a 2nd Great-Grandfather who were all involved in agriculture, one of them was a farmer and the others were agricultural farm labourers, so I like to think I have some form of farmers blood in me.

My partner and I love the outdoors, hard work and animals.

My partner has a number of traditional skills and qualifications including basketry/Willow Work, Iron Age Forging, Bronze Tool Casting, Woodland Management, Woodland Kitchen, Clay Work, Meteorology, Bow-Making, Glass Blowing and Food Hygiene.