Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: 10 acres in Cornwall - complete utter novices  (Read 2917 times)

rebeccaanne

• Joined Jun 2020
10 acres in Cornwall - complete utter novices
« on: June 10, 2020, 12:07:26 am »
Hello

Very excitingly we have the possibility of acquiring a 10 acre smallholding in Cornwall on the edge of Bodmin Moor.

We are complete novices but have a rough idea of what we want to do.

Plans include the usual veg growing, planting an orchard or forest garden, and short rotation coppice for firewood (willow mainly), keeping chickens and bees.

We would love some livestock (cattle and sheep) but not for eating because were veggies and not for milk as we just don't drink it. Our main reason for wanting a few cattle is because we just love them, for soil fertility and because we really want to use the land to implement a range of conservation projects for wildlife (establishment of traditional hay meadows, rough grassland for farmland bird nesting habitat etc) and use the cattle for conservation grazing. We were thinking belted Galloway's, Dexters or Shetland cattle.

We would want a small flock of sheep also because we love them (especially Portlands) but possibly also for wool or even for rare breed conservation (longwools) or even to help with conservation grazing (Jacobs or Cotswolds).

So my question is (and this is going to make me sound really stupid so Im sorry) can one keep cattle / sheep without raising them for meat or diary products? i.e if I have female cattle that won't be calving what do I do if they go on heat? (if thats the right expression). Is is better to keep males or females? If I do decide to breed rare breeds, is it feasible to sell any offspring I don't want to or cant keep rather than to kill for meat? Is there anything else I need to consider?

Has anyone else used their smallholding for conservation / wildlife purposes (aside from producing their own food)?

Thank you in anticipation.

bj_cardiff