Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Field too wet??  (Read 2400 times)

emrobinson

• Joined Jan 2020
Field too wet??
« on: February 19, 2020, 10:02:07 pm »
Hi,

I'm relatively new to keeping sheep and was hoping for some advice regarding the state of our grazing and welfare of the sheep.

We live in the north of Cumbria and like a lot of the country have been experiencing prolonged heavy rain which has resulted in a very wet field. We have four jacobs ewes on an acre. I am wondering how wet is too wet?! I'm worried that if I leave them out they will poach the ground so much the grass won't grow well enough for spring. I'm also concerned for the state of their feet on such wet ground. (They have been treated for fluke) . The only alternative I currently have is to keep them in a stable- would this be suitable?

Would be grateful for any advice!!

Emily.

bj_cardiff

• Joined Feb 2017
  • Carmarthenshire
Re: Field too wet??
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2020, 06:52:51 am »
Hi, are there dry or well draining parts of the field that they can get to? If the field is soaking with no dry parts for them to lie down on then I would bring them in and feed them hay for a couple of days. Its hard to say witout seeing how wet the field is, but sheep don't generally churn up the ground and damage it in the same way as larger animals. Any bare patches usually repair themselves when the grass starts growing again.

Buttermilk

• Joined Jul 2014
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2020, 08:47:47 am »
The fields may start to look dirty from the sheep but it is only cosmetic.  I have found that bringing in to a stable to live is worse for feet than staying out but if you have the option to put them inside for a few hours overnight and out during the day they will be able to dry off without having to stand in wee soaked bedding full time.

harmony

• Joined Feb 2012
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2020, 08:50:18 am »