Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sudden death in rabbits  (Read 5666 times)

vfr400boy

• Joined Jan 2013
  • one life live it
Sudden death in rabbits
« on: February 05, 2020, 08:08:30 pm »
My daughters standard rex gave birth a week ago and all seemed well then to day I noticed a kit out of the nest dead when I looked closer all the kits was dead ( 8 of them ) all had full tummys and looked fine no Mark's on them? Shes had 2 litters be for and been a good mum
What can it be ?

landroverroy

• Joined Oct 2010
Re: Sudden death in rabbits
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2020, 02:26:49 pm »
I'm not a rabbit expert, but if all seemed fit and healthy when born and there didn't seem to be feeding issues, then I would suspect a disease, for them all to have died at the same time. (Unless she killed them)
However when you say they all had full tummies - could it be that after death the tummies had swollen due to bacterial fermentation? I have just remembered a ewe I used to have that had 2 healthy big, bouncing lambs. All seemed great for a day. Then on day 2 they were both dead. Turned out her udder wasn't giving any milk and they'd died of starvation. Could it have been something like that, or that the doe had developed mastitis? I know it's probably a bit late now to check, but at least you'd be able to see if she had mastitis.

I seem to recall you used to work with pigs. So what would you suspect if you found a whole litter of piglets dead?
Rules are made:
  for the guidance of wise men
  and the obedience of fools.

vfr400boy

• Joined Jan 2013
  • one life live it
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2020, 09:30:53 pm »
All the kits were very chunky and looked very healthy am beginning to wonder if it was the cold as we had a bad frost that night and kits were at an age were they move around in the nest , but that said they are in a plywood hutch under a leentoo

LeeHambone

• Joined Jun 2017
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2020, 07:15:35 pm »