Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Foot / Feet Question !  (Read 2254 times)

Power Poultry

• Joined Sep 2010
  • Kings Lynn Norfolk
Foot / Feet Question !
« on: October 24, 2010, 05:20:02 pm »
Hello All

Karen (moi wife!) has posted on here before...for me - this is my first time - so "hello all"...

Question for you....Magnus, our Shetland Ram has a split outer wall on one front and one rear hoof.  The split area is pulled back and (thinking hard how best to describe this)...looks similar in some ways to a human nail that is tugged off and hanging on by a small amount of, well, nail..... (does that make sense?)

Under supervision from our vet I trimmed his feet around 4 weeks ago..all the newly purchased ewes had nice, tidy, easy to trim back little feet...magnus needed some remedial work to re-shape and sort out.....

Now then, should I get the outer wall that is ripped cut off cleaned and sprayed ? And am I okay to leave the inner section exposed? I think I know answer...but some reassurance would be appreciated !

Thank you in advance

Simon

khajou

• Joined Aug 2010
Re: Foot / Feet Question !
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2010, 05:22:33 pm »
I would trim off any loose bits and then spray with an antibiotic spray. The exposed inner bit of the foot should harden - as in the case of trimming the outer wall away in the case of foot rot.

suziequeue

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Llanidloes; Powys
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2010, 05:52:38 pm »
One of our ewes had a similar problem recently.

We took her to the vets as we are rank amateurs and had already tried trimming and spraying for a week to no effect and she is due to go to the tup soon so we didn't want to spend too long experimenting :-))

She trimmed her foot and gave her some shots but did advise us to keep the foot as dry as possible so we kept her in for a few days..... much to her chagrin

Right as rain now.

We do the best we can with the information we have

When we know better we do better