Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: What goats are easy to rear and best for eating and or milk please?  (Read 2313 times)

zackyb

• Joined Oct 2010
Hello All

I am new to AS and am planning on creating a small holding with some pigs and a couple of sheep and possibly some goats

I have knowledge of pigs but no knowledge of goats at all. I want to give them a good life and we have about four acres so would be sectioning off one part of one of the fields for them.

Could you please advise a good book I could use and what types of goat you would recommend that are easy to rear that will give good meat and or milk?

Thanks in advance
Zackyb

little blue

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Derbyshire
Re: What goats are easy to rear and best for eating and or milk please?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2010, 07:24:39 pm »
Boer goats are raised specifically for their meat.

But you could potentially raise any (especially castrated male kids) to eat, as a kind of "by-product" from your milkers  - seeing as they have to have kids in order to produce milk!

easily handled milkers could be Toggenburgs, Sanaan, Alpines - depends really on your choice, size, whats easily available.
have a look at them, and see what you like the look of (eg my husband isnt so keen on the anglo nubian, so we didnt get them!)

a search on a well known book site will show you plenty of books...
Katie Thear's "starting with goats" is good & reasonably priced as a basic one, alot are American so the regulations dont apply.  Storey's guides are good (American though) and if you do eventually get goats, invest in a good vets' guide too...
Little Blue

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
Re: What goats are easy to rear and best for eating and or milk please?
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2010, 07:33:45 pm »
The one book that I found most useful can be bought from abebooks.co.uk as a secondhand copy, as far as I know it is out of print.