Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: So out of my comfort zone - Starting a smallholding  (Read 1773 times)

jinks84

• Joined Dec 2019
So out of my comfort zone - Starting a smallholding
« on: December 30, 2019, 08:08:13 pm »
Firstly completely out of my comfort zone - approximately four years ago I purchased a small old farmhouse (300 years old approximately) the house is wonderful we overlook all of Cardiff the channel and across Caerphilly and upto Brecon.

Since moving here we've renovated the house built a deck which you can land a plane on, but have done NOTHING with the acre of land and it's completely overgrown!!! to say the least previously is was a small holding and has four derelict pig pens and hen houses.

In addition I have the opportunity of purchasing additional grazing land equating to four acres.

So here's the biggie I have no experience of gardening further than cutting the grass, the idea sounds interesting and I have the land rover defender so would look the part at least.

I like the idea of vegetable patches, chickens a sheep or two, my father informs me my grandfather had a green so maybe its in the blood??

thought ideas suggestions maybe mental health check would all be appreciated

thanks 

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: So out of my comfort zone - Starting a smallholding
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2020, 01:19:06 am »
If you’ve no experience of growing or of livestock, I would say go and get some experience first, to at least make sure you like it, before getting yourself committed at home.  Have a look at WWOOF UK, lots of hosts all over the UK (and all over the world through the worldwide organisations) who will be glad to have a bit of help and show you what they do.