Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Are Sheep Easy for a newbie?  (Read 1290 times)

WelshGirl70

• Joined Jul 2019
Are Sheep Easy for a newbie?
« on: August 04, 2019, 06:34:29 pm »
Hi
Complete newbie I’ve had a few goats for the month, chickens 2 weeks and piglets arrive this week. I wanted to get a few lambs, mainly just to fatten for the freezer and to help with grazing I only have 4 acres so it wouldn’t be many. I’ve spoken to a couple of farmers who say that sheep are a lot of work for a beginner and wondering what is everyone’s view? Any thoughts? Is there certain breeds that anyone would suggest? Thanks

twizzel

• Joined Apr 2012
Re: Are Sheep Easy for a newbie?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2019, 07:20:30 pm »
As long as you don’t take your eye off them they are fine. Sheep hide illness quite well so generally only tend to look poorly when they really are. If you just stick with buying a few store lambs that have been vaccinated for clostridial diseases (with heptavac or ovivac) then you should be able to learn the ropes as you go. Don’t buy in lamb breeding ewes as your first venture into sheep as breeding throws a whole new set of problems you can encounter.

The native down breeds are pretty chilled out, Polled Dorset, Hampshire down, Dorset down. Don’t buy anything that ought to live on a hill in wales as it’ll likely be pretty skittish  :roflanim:  if you can buy from a fellow smallholder that’s even better, check out preloved.

Also , make sure you register with a farm/large animal vet as with goats sheep and pigs you will probably need their services before long. Good luck!

tommytink

• Joined Aug 2018
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2019, 10:29:04 pm »
Can vouch for the skitty hill sheep. We got some Badger Faces as we’re in a valley and have fairly steep fields. They came from a commercial setup and are pretty nuts. The guy we got them from calls this “healthy”!! But they do suit the hill.