Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Buying a smallholding  (Read 2625 times)

Blooms88

• Joined Jun 2019
Buying a smallholding
« on: June 11, 2019, 03:24:45 pm »
Hi All,

Im new to all this so please bear with me!

I was hoping some of you may be able to share with me the process of buying a smallholding in Scotland. From the bidding process to surveys conveyancing, mortgage etc etc

Just to give you some background myself and my partner already have a herd of pedigree cattle which we keep all on rented ground but we are desperate to have something to call our own. Im currently on maternity leave with child number 2 and other half is a self employed stockman.

Our dream might be pie in the sky for we are very much on a low income with no deposit but if the right place came along the bank of mum and dad may be able to help us out.

Thanks all

tommytink

• Joined Aug 2018
Re: Buying a smallholding
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2019, 06:43:26 am »
Hi,

Do you live in Scotland now? My mother-in-law does and know when she bought (a house) it was like a sealed bid system. Don’t know if it’s any different for smallholdings.

You’ll need an agricultural conveyancer. They have the knowledge of the additional searches and agri-related checks. As an example I think this was the form that our sellers had to complete: It’ll cost more than a standard fee for a “normal” property as it’s more in depth.

https://uk.practicallaw.thomsonreuters.com/5-616-7576?transitionType=Default&contextData=(sc.Default)&firstPage=true&comp=pluk&bhcp=1&view=hidealldraftingnotes

This is the form our sellers had to complete for us. This is only for England and Wales but imagine same sort of thing applies in Scotland.

I would suggest finding an agricultural solicitor and asking all your questions to get a definitive answer. They shouldn’t charge you, especially if there’s a chance they can get your business!

Good luck.

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?