Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Total newbie to goats. What prep?  (Read 2503 times)

alang

• Joined Nov 2017
  • Morayshire
Total newbie to goats. What prep?
« on: January 27, 2019, 10:58:47 am »
After a long conversation with SWMBO (she who must be obeyed) we have decided to look at keeping a few goats to raise for meat and possibly in the future, dairy for personal consumption.

Some basic questions here that hopefully the more knowledgeable members can comment on.

1. What minimum size of paddock would i require for two Boer goats?

2. How high would you make the fencing around the paddock?

3. What other books would you recommend? I am looking at Goats for Beginners - Maggi franklin and Raising Meat Goats - Maggie Sayer

4. What minimum size of hut would you have?
I'm not scared to be seen, I make no apologies. This is me!

alang

• Joined Nov 2017
  • Morayshire
Re: Total newbie to goats. What prep?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2019, 01:54:43 pm »
Out of curiosity why are you opting for Boer goats?  A lot of the commercial producers are using dairy crosses for meat and milk and seem to be getting decent carcasses.

Many thanks for the invaluable information SD.

We are choosing Boer goats at first because we read they are good for meat and the countless youtube vids always recommend them. Down the line we are looking into dairy but not at the moment. I would rather get the meat side of things right first and then progress onto dairy from that.

clydesdaleclopper

• Joined Aug 2009
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2019, 05:43:17 pm »
Hi [member=174648]alang[/member] . Whereabouts in Moray are you? There are lots of experienced goat keepers in the Grampian Goat Club and you would be welcome to come along to one of our meetings. I'm between Keith and Huntly with dairy goats and there are quite a few GGC members with Boer goats locally.