Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: When should i put my boar in with the sow???  (Read 2750 times)

dubie

• Joined Apr 2010
When should i put my boar in with the sow???
« on: September 27, 2010, 09:38:27 pm »
When should i put my boar in with the sow??? :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig: :pig:
Thanks

conman

• Joined Jul 2010
Re: When should i put my boar in with the sow???
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 09:52:05 pm »
complete novice here but ive been told as long as they farrow after there first b/day there fine

dubie

• Joined Apr 2010
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2010, 09:59:02 pm »
THANKYOU IM A NOVISE TO WE GOT THE WRUNT AND A BOAR THANKYOU

HappyHippy

« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2010, 10:55:55 pm »
No offence meant here folks, but if you're novices to pigs you should do a hell of a lot of learning and working with them before you even consider breeding them.
Dubie, I wouldn't advise breeding from the runt of the litter. Other's may disagree, but IMHO you want the very best of pigs to breed from, definately not the runt.
Sorry guys, this sounds soooo negative, pigs are great and I think everyone should keep them  ;D But you've got to learn to walk before you run and there's a big difference between raising some pork for the freezer and looking after a maiden gilt the first time she farrows.
Good luck with it though,
Karen

Fowgill Farm

• Joined Feb 2009
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2010, 09:54:54 am »
Hi Dubie
I agree with Karen. A female pig is not called a sow until she has is on her way to having a second litter.
A runt probably won't be strong enough or grown enough to cope with having a litter so as karen says i wouln't breed from one.