Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Soil testing  (Read 1760 times)

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
Soil testing
« on: October 03, 2018, 03:18:01 pm »

I am looking into soil testing for my veg garden (rather than the grazing fields, which I will do with forage analysis at some point). Has anyone done this and can a) recommend a reasonably priced company in the UK and b) how useful was the info you got and how did it fit in with an (as much as possible) organic way of growing? I am not against application of stuff like dolomite or even normal lime and if needed for a specific shortage using a chemical fertiliser as long as its not every year.

Also looking if someone can recommend a good book (or website) for a UK audience. I am reading (very slowly) my way through "The intelligent gardener - growing nutrient-dense food" by Steve Solomon, but it's aimed at the American market and all non-metrical. Even as a trained PhD Chemist I find it difficult to follow, but I am looing for explanations for some of the crop failures we had in the polytunnel as well as in the garden...

Scotsdumpy

• Joined Jul 2012
Re: Soil testing
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2018, 04:08:36 pm »
I think that the James Hutton Institute does soil testing.

Southern Northerner

• Joined Jun 2017
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2018, 05:46:11 pm »
Hi Anke.  I had soil testing done on our farm a few months ago for the first time - with me it was done for land used for grazing so different to your intended approach for your grazing land.  It was done by a local contact (I’m in High Peak so I don’t think that will work for you).  I would say though that whilst the process isn’t cheap (depending upon how many samples you have taken) I found the process pretty useful as it confirmed my suspicions that the soil does need some help albeit I have yet to action the findings.  So all in all I would recommend it.

harmony

• Joined Feb 2012