Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Pregnant Ewe?  (Read 2512 times)

OhLaLa

• Joined Sep 2010
Pregnant Ewe?
« on: September 23, 2010, 01:06:23 pm »
I purchased my very first ewes a couple of months ago, one has always been a bit rounder but now I'm wondering if she is in lamb. Unable to contact seller.

I'm a total novice, have looked up 'what to look for' (not found a lot of info) so it's still pretty tricky for me to tell. No chance of getting scans done so will have to be done by eye.

They do have a good field so could it be poss too much grass (are the grass nutrients high for them at this time of year - end Sept)? And if she is about to have (her first) lamb, would you guys advise, in due course, bringing her in to lamb (as the colder rainy days are ahead)?

And just for future ref - do you think it better to let ewes lamb inside or out? I was intending to introduce a ram sometime October/November so they lambed during the warmer days of March/April.

All advice welcome!!

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
Re: Pregnant Ewe?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2010, 02:54:39 pm »
I've got one that always looks pregnant. You could probably get your vet to PD her. They start to get an udder days before they lamb, but some bag up late so it's not reliable.

Generally sheep are better lambed outdoors - less disease - but at this time of year, the lamb might be better inside until it's dry and fed and a few days old. A combination of wet and windy is a killer. You can get things called lammacs - raincoats for lambs, that help protect them from the weather. If she is pregnant, I'd lamb her indoors if I could.

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2010, 03:10:02 pm »