Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hello/Topper Question  (Read 2754 times)

Hal

• Joined Sep 2018
Hello/Topper Question
« on: September 04, 2018, 02:25:37 pm »
Hi! My wife is into horse's, and we have a 5 acre smallholding. I've got a small 14hp Kubota which I have had for about 3 years. I have a Fleming 4 foot topper which I use to top each paddock, mainly of docks, after the horses have ate all the grass. I am somewhat embarrassed to discover that the  2 blades mounted on each end of the main arm of the topper should spin independently, but are fixed for transport. I have been using them in the "fixed" position for the last 3 years. The topper works fine and I am always pleased with the results. So should I be worried, and release the spinning blades (which will be a total pain as I have a severely bad back), or just carry on regardless?? Thanks in advance.

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
Re: Hello/Topper Question
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2018, 10:43:43 pm »
Hi. I haven't a clue about your topper (whatever that is) but wanted to welcome you to the forum.

Hal

• Joined Sep 2018
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2018, 11:04:59 pm »
Thank you for the welcome. A topper is just a glorified lawn mower. In my case it's mounted at the rear of my tiny tractor and uses the tractors engine to drive the blades. At 4 foot wide it's pretty much the smallest one you can get. Very popular with people who have grassland they need to keep under control. Mr Big Farmer has much bigger ones which he uses for cutting hay/silage etc.

bj_cardiff

• Joined Feb 2017
  • Carmarthenshire
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2018, 07:05:43 am »
Welcome!