Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Pigs and Hens on the same ground  (Read 4936 times)

fifisoo

• Joined Oct 2008
  • Dumfries & Galloway
Pigs and Hens on the same ground
« on: August 10, 2013, 11:20:59 am »
Hi there

I am a newbie and in need of some advice. Am sure this has probably been asked a hundred times before but I couldn't find any old posts on the subject, so here goes. We plan to keep a couple of pigs (tamworths) for fattening up. We already have chickens and they are currently free range in the area we have earmarked for the pigs. We are planning on moving the chooks to a different area:
  • Should we make sure that the chooks can never get in with the pigs, or is it ok to let the chooks wander and let them learn for themselves if the pigs decide to have a nibble.
  • Are there any issues with putting pigs onto land that chickens have roamed.
  • Would you fence around any trees (8 year old fruit trees) in your pig pen. There are a few in there.
All advice gratefully received
Fiona

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
Re: Pigs and Hens on the same ground
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2013, 11:54:49 am »
I'm pretty sure the chickens might be regarded as a nice snack by pigs, so would keep them separate...:-o

Moregin

• Joined Oct 2009
  • Grangemouth
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2013, 04:17:45 pm »
I did the exact same thing with mine earlier this year. My 2 Welsh gilts really liked the Black Rocks. Think they must have caught the birds nesting in the pigs bedding though as in the open the couldn't catch up with them. I tried to fence them off but one or three of the chickens must've had a death wish!!!
Try to be the type of person your dog thinks you are!

hughesy

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Anglesey
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2013, 06:29:23 pm »