Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Greasy pig disease-any experience?  (Read 4508 times)

SMarshall

• Joined Feb 2012
Greasy pig disease-any experience?
« on: August 30, 2012, 10:28:58 am »
Well, we're not having much luck with our LB litter. Mums snout bleed and lack of eating/drinking has resolved itself but some of the little ones are now not good :-( vet thinks it's greasy pig disease and probably brought on from not enough colostrum from mum before she started her snout bleed etc.

We've just lost one piglet and are monitoring the rest. They've had antibiotics and a wipe down but it's all rather sad :-(

Cheers
Steph

Berkshire Boy

• Joined May 2011
  • Presteigne, Powys
Re: Greasy pig disease-any experience?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 10:56:53 am »
Sorry to hear your bad luck is continuing, I have no experience of greasy pig so no usefull advice to give I'm afraid. Sometimes these things seem to happen and then the next litters are no trouble and you can start enjoying them again instead of dreading going out to the pen. Good luck and keep us informed. :fc:
Everyone makes mistakes as the Dalek said climbing off the dustbin.

Fowgill Farm

• Joined Feb 2009
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2012, 11:21:16 am »
Not something we've has either, but keep your chin up :hug: , it should soon clear up :fc: , enjoy your babies they soon grow.
Mandy  :pig: :pig:

robert waddell

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 12:52:02 pm »
not had any experience of this either   but i would recommend a change of vet       the piglets are infected from the vaginal canal at birth      the sow will be a carrier      the worst ones turn black and die others have wrinkled skin :farmer:

SMarshall

• Joined Feb 2012
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2012, 03:03:12 pm »