Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hello, I'm new to all this  (Read 4673 times)

Nickie

• Joined May 2009
  • Gwynedd
Hello, I'm new to all this
« on: May 14, 2009, 09:51:14 am »
Hi everyone. Not only am I new to this forum, but I'm new to small holding to. We have just bought a house & 45 acres in North Wales. Land was mainly for the horses I already have, but there's so much of it that we are thinking about keeping some livestock as well, nothing too much work as we have enough of that already!

The pasture land has been grazed by up to 8 horses for the last 10 years, without any work being done, so in places it looks like the Somme. We've been busy rolling, harrowing & reseeding since we moved here (about a month ago). It's all been a bit trial & error as this is the first time either of us has owned land.

We have loads of moss, stones, gorse & bare patches of mud at the moment, but I'm sure things will improve given the right work & time - fingers crossed. We are about 260 metres above sea level, 5 miles from the coast & have very strong winds, although I have been told that we don't usually have many frosts.

Bought a chicken house this week & some electric netting as foxes are a problem here apparently. Also looking for a dog to help with the foxes & also the neighbouring sheep who keep jumping the walls.

Things on my wish list are chickens (black rock, light sussex or rhode island red), & for the freezer a couple of pigs & lambs to fatten up. Views on breeds, advice etc would be very welcome. I also hope to get my veggie plot up & running this year, but trying to find a site which is sheltered, sunny & relatively stone free is not easy!

Anyway, that's me in a nutshell.

Pomona

• Joined Jan 2009
Re: Hello, I'm new to all this
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2009, 12:10:00 pm »
Wow, sounds fabulous  :D  And very exciting too - a whole new way of life beckoning!

Welcome to the site, nice to meet you  :)

pegusus pig

• Joined Feb 2009